How many gallons is a hot tub?
Most hot tubs hold between about 200 and 600 gallons, but seat count is a poor guide to your own tub.
Always follow your product’s label directions. Pool and spa chlorine, bromine, shock and algaecides are EPA-registered pesticides: use products labeled for pool or spa use, and don’t swim or soak until levels are within the limit on your product’s label. If this page and a label disagree, the label wins.
On this page (8 sections)
In the 14 models we checked on manufacturers' sites, 3-seat tubs held 217–245 gallons, 5- to 9-seat tubs 314–455 gallons, and a 10-seat tub 566 gallons, while inflatable spas held 177–210 gallons. To get your own number, time your fill with a bucket and a hose.
Typical gallons by seats (range, not a promise)
These are water capacities published by the manufacturers, checked on their websites on 2026-09-29. We chose models across sizes to show the spread. This is not a market survey.
| Model | Seats | Outside size | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bullfrog X5L | 3 | 5′8″ × 7′ | 217 gal (821 L) |
| Hot Spring Stride | 3 | 7′ × 5′5″ × 29″ | 225 gal (850 L) |
| Hot Spring Jetsetter | 3 | 7′ × 5′8″ × 33″ | 245 gal (925 L) |
| Bullfrog X6L | 7 listed ("up to 6" in the description) | 7′4″ × 6′8″ | 314 gal (1,189 L) |
| Hot Spring Sovereign | 5 | 6′8″ × 7′9″ × 33″ | 330 gal (1,250 L) |
| Hot Spring Relay | 6 | 7′ × 7′ × 36″ | 340 gal (1,290 L) |
| Hot Spring Aria | 5 | 7′3″ × 7′3″ × 36″ | 365 gal (1,400 L) |
| Bullfrog X7 | 8 | 7′4″ × 7′4″ | 395 gal (1,495 L) |
| Bullfrog M7 | 9 | 7′7″ × 7′7″ | 453 gal (1,716 L) |
| Hot Spring Envoy | 5 | 8′4″ × 7′7″ × 38″ | 455 gal (1,725 L) |
| Hot Spring Grandee | 7 | 8′4″ × 7′7″ × 38″ | 455 gal (1,725 L) |
| Bullfrog M9 | 10 | 9′2″ × 7′10″ | 566 gal (2,143 L) |
Look at the Envoy and the Grandee: same shell size, same 455 gallons, but 5 seats versus 7. The Bullfrog X6L lists 7 seats and holds 314 gallons, less than the 5-seat Aria. Seat counts describe how many people fit, not how much water is in the tub. Brands also count seats differently (loungers, corner seats, "up to" numbers).
Inflatable tubs: manufacturer capacities (Intex PureSpa 210 gal, Bestway SaluSpa 177 gal)
| Model | Capacity | Fill basis | Real ÷ nominal geometry | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bestway SaluSpa Hot Springs AirJet 2-4 person | 177 gal670 L | not stated | — | manufacturer |
| Intex PureSpa Bubble Deluxe 4-person (round inflatable) | 210 gal795 L | not stated | — | manufacturer |
Capacities read on manufacturer pages on 2026-09-29. "Real ÷ nominal geometry" below 1 means the box size overstates the water volume.
Inflatable spas hold less than most hard-shell tubs, and their manufacturers state the capacity directly, so use that number. Both hold well under 1,000 gallons, which matters because some pool apps won't accept a volume that small. Our calculators accept volumes from 50 gallons. Care for these tubs, including doses for their size, is on the inflatable hot tub page.
Why seat geometry makes formulas useless
For a pool, length × width × depth × 7.48 gives gallons. For a hot tub, that math is far off, because molded seats, footwells, loungers, and the insulated cabinet all take up space inside the outside dimensions. We compared the box volume of the seven Hot Spring models above (outside length × width × height × 7.48) with their published capacity:
| Model | Box volume from outside size | Published capacity | Real ÷ box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stride | 685 gal | 225 gal | 33% |
| Jetsetter | 816 gal | 245 gal | 30% |
| Sovereign | 1,063 gal | 330 gal | 31% |
| Relay | 1,100 gal | 340 gal | 31% |
| Aria | 1,180 gal | 365 gal | 31% |
| Envoy | 1,497 gal | 455 gal | 30% |
| Grandee | 1,497 gal | 455 gal | 30% |
For these models, the water was only 30–33% of the box volume. A box formula would overstate the volume about three times, and every chemical dose along with it. Other brands and shapes may differ. Don't use 30% as a rule; treat it as a warning. The general pool volume calculator is for pools, not molded spas.
Hose method calculator
How it works: measure how fast your hose fills a bucket, then time the whole tub fill.
- Open the tap to the setting you'll use for the fill. Time how many seconds it takes to fill a 5-gallon bucket. Do it twice and take the average.
- Drain the tub (or start a new fill) and time the fill from empty to the normal water line, without changing the tap.
- Enter both numbers. Example: 5 gallons in 40 seconds is 7.5 gal/min. A 50-minute fill is then about 375 gallons.
Keep other taps and sprinklers off during the fill, because changes in water pressure change the flow. A 10% timing error is a 10% volume error, which is small next to the error from guessing by seats.
Salt method: if your tub can have salt (check the manual; tubs with a salt system can), add a known weight of pool salt, wait 24 hours, and measure the rise. Volume = salt added ÷ ppm rise. The result is only as accurate as your salt test.
How long does it take to fill a hot tub?
Divide the tub's gallons by your hose's flow. At 7.5 gallons a minute (a 5-gallon bucket in 40 seconds), a 250-gallon tub fills in about 33 minutes and a 400-gallon tub in about 53 minutes. Time your own bucket first: hose flow varies a lot with water pressure and hose size. Your manual may also say where to put the hose during the fill.
Check the manual or the label
The fastest way to get the right number is the paperwork. Look for "water capacity" or "fill volume" in the owner's manual, on the spec sheet, or on the model's page on the manufacturer's website. For older or secondhand tubs, the model name is often on a sticker inside the equipment bay door. Once you have the number, use it everywhere: the hot tub calculator and chlorine chart scale every dose from it.
FAQ
How many gallons in a 7 person hot tub?
In our sample, two tubs listed as 7-seat held 314 gallons (Bullfrog X6L) and 455 gallons (Hot Spring Grandee). That spread is why you should check your model's spec sheet or time a fill instead of going by seats.
How many gallons in a small hot tub?
Three-seat hard tubs in our sample held 217–245 gallons. Inflatable spas hold less: 177 gallons for the Bestway SaluSpa Hot Springs AirJet and 210 gallons for the Intex PureSpa 4-person, according to their manufacturers.
How much water is in a 5 person hot tub?
The three 5-seat tubs in our sample held 330 gallons (Hot Spring Sovereign), 365 gallons (Aria), and 455 gallons (Envoy). A 5-seat tub is often 300–450 gallons, but check your own model.
How many gallons are in an 8x8 hot tub?
Tubs close to 8 × 8 ft outside in our sample held 395–455 gallons: the Bullfrog X7 (7′4″ square, 395 gallons), the Bullfrog M7 (7′7″ square, 453 gallons), and the Hot Spring Envoy (8′4″ × 7′7″, 455 gallons). Outside size alone can't give you the exact number.
How big is a 500 gallon hot tub?
In our sample, tubs near 500 gallons measured about 8 to 9 feet on the long side: 455 gallons in 8′4″ × 7′7″ (Hot Spring Envoy and Grandee) and 566 gallons in 9′2″ × 7′10″ (Bullfrog M9).
How many gallons is a 4 person hot tub?
The Intex PureSpa 4-person inflatable holds 210 gallons. We did not include a 4-seat hard tub in our sample. Nearby sizes held 217–245 gallons (3 seats) and 330–455 gallons (5 seats). Check your own model's spec sheet.
Sources
- Bullfrog Spas model pages (X5L, X6L, X7, M7, M9), read 2026-09-29: X5L, X6L, X7, M7, M9
- Hot Spring Spas model pages, read 2026-09-29: Stride, Jetsetter, Sovereign, Relay, Aria, Envoy, Grandee
- Intex and Bestway capacities: see the manufacturer links in the inflatable table above and on our methodology page.